100/0 Principle

Often times, we struggle to find happiness in life and we think that purchasing lavish items, partying or consuming unhealthy amounts of food will fill the void of happiness that we crave. When in reality, its a vicious cycle that spirals you out of control and possibly into depression. When we partake in over-eating, not working out, drinking alcohol and staying up late, we throw our bodies through a hurricane of toxins. Alcohol, a depressant, is often seen as a way to have fun, however, is the worse thing you could possibly ingest. Typically, I have found that after a night of partying I wake up feeling horrible and lazy and rather than cooking a healthy meal I eat fast food and provide my body with 0 nutrition which in turn makes me feel even worse. After a day of unhealthy food, I am unable to fall asleep at my typical early hour because I have stayed up all weekend till 3 AM. So, for the next few days of work I find myself exhausted, unable to muster energy to workout or cook a meal so I have wasted 5 days of eating horribly, being lazy and trying to get on a normal sleep schedule all in time for another round of weekend partying. It wasn’t until my mid-20’s that I have found the one secret to being happy. It all comes down to one thing… Your personal relationships.

I was introduced to something called the 100/0 Principle, and it is quite easy. Live a life of kindness, respect and patience to all you encounter (the 100), and expect nothing in return (the 0). Develop relationships, put in the effort to get to know someone, do something nice for them, make someone else happy. When you invest 100% into a relationship, it is impossible for the other person to not participate and contribute. It is all about giving. The best thing you can do to change your day from bad to great is to do something nice for someone else. You cannot help but become overwhelmed with happiness once you see the positive affect you have on someone’s life. My mother always said when I was a child, “Kill them with kindness.” No matter how rude, mean or disrespectful someone is, be kind, be patient, be respectful and you will win them over. I have seen through different books I have read that have more a spiritual undertone that God’s purpose for us is to live on this earth and develop relationships, spend time with one another, learn to love everyone. The best way to spell love is “T-I-M-E”.  With the 100/0 principle mindset, you will be happy and an infectious person to be around.

 

Here is a video I found that talks more about the 100/0 Principle

Brenden

About brendenmartin05

I am a graduate student earning my Master's In Teaching, working as an Administrative Assistant, looking for ways to change the public education field for the better using technology and imagination

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

