Tools

I do not care how far-fetched, silly, out of this world your dream is…It CAN happen. I am saddened at the fact that every day I see 828 elementary students and I ask them, “What is your dream?” and 80% of the responses are “I don’t know.” What happened to our imagination? Why aren’t schools piggy-backing on the energy of a students dreams to motivate learning? What is even worse is that by the time these students hit high school and college, that 80% turns into 99%. We live in a time where everything is at our fingertips and any small desire of a dream is washed away with any hiccup or bump in the road. Well, I have a suggestion to help make your dream a reality!

You may think you have nothing in your life, or you may be blessed and have anything you desire. Either way, you can still benefit from this solution. I have the dream to become a motivational speaker and inspire K-12 and college students believe in themselves. Instead of letting my dream remain a dream I have began to take action. Instead of waiting for an opportunity to fall into my lap, I have used the world around me to create my dream. Now, I may not be getting bookings but I am ready for it when I do! I have written my speeches, I have purchased a presentation board and drew out different activities on its pages. I have even written letters to myself pretending I am someone else who has benefited from my presentation. I have 5 letters ranging from experiences and benefits. One is from a single mother who gave up on the possibility of an education, another from a high school student who is adopted and doesn’t have any self-worth.

So, if you want to be a singer, make a fake microphone and go through the motions as if you were a famous singer on tour. Make your schedule of cities you want to tour to. If you want to be a pilot begin surrounding yourself and making your life look like you imagine it to be.

Every great accomplishment started as a thought. With a little hope it became a dream. With a little faith, the dream became within reach. With a little love, it became a reality.

About brendenmartin05

I am a graduate student earning my Master's In Teaching, working as an Administrative Assistant, looking for ways to change the public education field for the better using technology and imagination

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

